Early Morning Runner

By nature I’m a morning person. Through and through. As soon as I awake, I’m wide awake, whatever the hour. I’m not an evening person. I don’t watch TV and so feel an early night means I can start my day earlier.
I’ve decided to throw my love for running into the mix. Lately I’ve been setting my alarm for 4am. I don’t need to be up at this hour because I start work at 8, but 4am seems like a stupid enough hour to legitimise early morning running.
I’ve woke up, stumbled out of bed and got my running gear on and by 4:15am I’ve been out and running.
Don’t get me wrong I must look stupid. If I saw me running at 4:15am I’d rugby tackle me and phone the police. There is literally no reason for anyone to be running at this hour.
But having trialled the mentality, in the pitch black and middle of winter in all weathers….. I love it.
The roads are empty and theres not a soul about. The only company I have is the initial race between me and a stray cat as we both accidentally confront each other on a darkened corner.
Left alone with the town to myself, earphones in and knowing that before most people are up, I’ve finished working out. It also means that I don’t have to workout on the evening.
This way the cycle of early nights suits me perfectly.
I think anyone who is slightly a morning person, should definitely give this a go. Yes of course 4am is a horrible time but if you’ve gone to bed at 9…………….thats 7 hours sleep.

7 thoughts on “Early Morning Runner

  1. I could never do 9am sleeping with an office job in London, quite often I wouldn’t even have left the office by then! I’m an 8 hours a night gal, but going to bed nice and early in paradise to get up early for morning runs & yoga 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment